Villa S. Andrea is located in the heart of Tuscany , between the provinces of Florence and Siena.
It covers over 600 hectares in the Chianti Classico region and it has the ancient village of Fabbrica at its center. In the village there is a church dedicated to Saint Andrea, the aging wine cellars and a villa.
Around the village there are 50 hectares of vineyards with the best possible sun exposure, located at about 250 m above sea level.
In addition you can find olive groves in the surrounding hills from which we produce our olive oil; and arable land where a variety of seasonal crops are grown. Some of these areas are irrigated with water coming from the two large lakes that belong to Villa S. Andrea.
The property is part of the wildlife and hunting company Villa Sant'Andrea "Fabbrica - Santa Cristina". For those who enjoy walking and cycling, the surrounding area is covered with forests of oaks, acacias and cypress trees, where wild animals wander free. There are paths to explore this beautiful and pristine setting.
During the XI century, over the hill covered with olive groves and vineyards that protrudes towards the Pesa Valley “…facing the Petrojo Castle and alongside the Passignano Abbey, the Buondelmonti family of Florence built a fortified castle that dominated some of the most frequented roads of the parish…”.
This village was named Fabbrica, that derives from the Latin "faber", referencing its history as an important foundry.
The castle was surrounded by fortified walls that occupied the entire summit of the hill. Within these walls there were the nobles’ residence, the storerooms, the wine cellars, the grain stores and the charming parish church, and surrounding them were the houses of the estate workers.
After the battle of Montaperti in 1260, the castle was partially dismantled by the Ghibellines. Over time the castle was transformed into a villa around the palace and two towers.
The castle remained the property of the Buondelmontis until the first half of the eighteenth century, when it passed into the hands of the Rinuccini and then the Corsini families.
The latter owned it until 1920 when it was acquired by Count Piatti dal Pozzo. The present owners, the Vicini family, inherited it in 1946.
Oral hisstory tells us that one of the two great towers of the old castle suffered serious damage during the earthquake of Messina in 1908 and that the other one was demolished and replaced by a new central, much higher tower (it is said that Count Piatti, being from Genoa, wanted to be able to see his city from the tower). This tower was destroyed during World War II bombings.
To date, portions of the ancient walls still remains, together with the ancient turret (which housed the prison used in the period of the struggles between Guelfi and Ghibellines) and the remains of a fortified gate to one side of the driveway.
Villa S. Andrea TODAY
Today, the estate takes its name from the church dedicated to Saint Andrea, located in the Fabbrica village.
The church's façade, dating from the end of the XVIII century, is crowned by a pediment with curves and two pyramid-shaped pinnacles.
Next to the church is the oratory, probably built where the romanic church used to be, whose façade depicts the badge of the Buondelmonti family.
THE PLANTATION AND HOTEL
Villa S. Andrea is now a winemaking and agricultural company and a hotel.
The villa dominates the hill. From its highest point, following the contours of the land, we see unfolding the other buildings and the old cellars, entirely dug into the hill and arranged in parallel rows. Here the wine, held in obscure silence, gently ages in oak casks and barriques.
Visiting Villa S. Andrea
Walking in the village of Fabbrica, between the old houses , is like walking back in time.
The tour goes through the small village up the hill and allows visitors to admire the Church of S. Andrea from a close distance. Visitors will also have access to a roof terrace from where one can spot one of the two lakes, as well as the villas of Podere Perticato and Antico Podere Zobi, used as hotel accommodations today.
THE WINE CELLARS
The visit of the cellars lasts about an hour and allows visitors to explore Villa S. Andrea's most important Tuscan wines, the processing techniques in the vineyards, and the various stages of wine production, from fermentation to aging.
After the tour, visitors are offered a wine tasting and, upon request, a sampling of traditional food.
From the village of Villa S. Andrea one can admire the beautiful vineyards from several perspectives.
Every season of the year offers a different experience, but always of great beauty and a lasting impression.